Schedule of Public Forums and Hearings

Public Forums

Public Forums were held at the following locations during February 2010 to provide information about the Inquiry and an opportunity for the public to raise relevant issues.

Nhulunbuy: Thursday, 11 February, Arnhem Club, 1 Franklyn St, 5.30pm to 7pm.

Palmerston: Friday, 12 February, Palmerston Library Community Room, Goyder Square, The Boulevard, 5.30pm to 7pm.

Katherine: Monday, 15 February, Knotts Crossing Resort Conference Room, cnr Giles and Cameron streets, 5.30pm to 7pm.

Tennant Creek: Tuesday, 16 February, Karguru Conference Room, Tennant Creek Training Centre, 65 Staunton St, 12 noon to 1.30pm.

Alice Springs: Tuesday, 16 February, Andy McNeill Room, Alice Springs Town Council, 93 Todd St, 5.30pm to 7pm.

Darwin: Thursday, 18 February, Darwin High School Gymnasium (The Tank), Bullocky Point, 5.30pm to 7pm.

Public Hearings

Public hearings were held (by appointment only) in March 2010 as follows:

Darwin & Palmerston:  Thursday 18 March and Friday 19 March, 7th Floor, National Mutual Building, 9-11 Cavenagh Street.

Nhulunbuy:  Monday 22 March, Nhulunbuy Training Centre, Chesterfield Circuit.

Katherine:  Tuesday 23 March, Katherine Indigenous Co‑ordination Centre, 1st Floor, Randazzo Building, 14 Katherine Terrace.

Tennant Creek:  Wednesday 24 March, Country Women’s Association (CWA) Hall, 16 Noble Street.

Alice Springs:  Thursday 25 March and Friday 26 March, Coolibah Function Room, Chifley Alice Springs Resort, 34 Stott Terrace.

A number of hearings were also scheduled in April, May and June.

The Board of Inquiry hearings were open to the public.  However, due to the subject matter and content of evidence of some witnesses, the Board was required to close many hearings at the request of the witnesses, which meant excluding all persons other than the witness.  This was so particular evidence could be heard confidentially in closed sessions or 'in camera'.

Visits to remote communities

Visits to Aboriginal communities were held in April and May.  These visits were not publicly advertised as they involved only members of the communities visited and some service providers.